Skip to main content
Windscribe

What do “Log Out Everywhere” and “Delete Credentials” mean? (formerly “Delete Sessions”/“Delete VPN Creds”)

Author
Winder S
May 26, 2026
Divider

Your privacy and security is of utmost importance to us and the reason we exist is to protect you! Because of this reason exactly, we minimize the amount of information we collect, ensure that everything is secure, and do not store any logs that can personally identify you.

With that being said, the VPN service can't work unless we know you're using Windscribe through the use of a session. We don't track these sessions in any detail however you do still have the ability to delete them all at any time. Those, along with any custom configuration credentials, can be wiped with the Log Out Everywhere and Delete Credentials buttons (formerly “Delete Sessions” and “Delete VPN Creds”) in the Access and Devices card on the Security tab of My Account.

Log Out Everywhere and Delete Credentials in the Access and Devices card

Log Out Everywhere: Pressing this button ends all current sessions (everywhere you are logged in), including the browser you're using, and forces you to log into the Windscribe clients and the website again. This is very beneficial for several reasons and you might need it when you have temporarily signed in on another device, switched computers, think you have been hacked, or just want to quickly log out everywhere for peace of mind.

Delete Credentials: Pressing this deletes all VPN server credentials – such as the ones used for manual configs – along with any static IP devices and port forwards you've created, and you would have to generate them again from our website. These are not your regular Windscribe username and password, those stay unaffected. While Log Out Everywhere ends your sessions, it only affects the Windscribe clients. Deleting VPN credentials allows things like router VPN setups to be disconnected as well so that no connection remains active. You would use this in cases such as when you believe your account has been hijacked and they’ve set up your configs on their router or perhaps there's an old router with credentials still on it that you would like to nullify.

Both buttons ask you to confirm in a dialog first. If the point is to get everyone off your account or clear out all your old, stale sessions, press Delete Credentials first and then Log Out Everywhere (it signs you out of this browser too), give it a minute and you'll be back to zero sessions and connections.

If you think or know that your account has been compromised and you want additional help, we want to help you sort it all out as quickly as possible so feel free to contact us through Garry, our support assistant. If needed, Garry will pass your case on to our support team.

Get in touch